New influences and collaborations: Kent Truog

As I mentioned last week, staying connected even on Facebook for opportunities got me acquainted with my cousin’s friend Kent Truog, who shares the same goals as I do, with the sole exception being that I intend to put me and my personality in the work I do.

We had a good conversation over the phone which basically got summed up with Kent giving me some pointers about what equipment to get, how many spares I should carry (going by the rule of three each of batteries, memory cards, lenses), a good mic (because people are more forgiving of bad visuals versus bad audio), and showed me some of his work.

What excites me the most is that because we share the same goals and ideals, he brought up a good mnemonic point: more people with these passions need to collaborate rather than compete, and both of us are interested in those global issues of marginalized people, especially in Southeast Asia.

So next summer, we’ll be in the region working our magic. Get a little taste of his work here and please share it, because these issues must be known and his talent must be recognized.

Check back soon for a Q and A with him to follow up. As Humphrey Bogart said at the end of Casablanca: “This is the beginning of a beautiful friendship.”

Leave a Reply

