Never underestimate the power of delegating

As great as it feels to finish a project and be able to say with pride and accomplishment that I’ve done it all by myself, the time I can potentially save through collaboration rather than competition and through delegating is worth a lot more than breaking my back doing the solo act.

Even if I had all the time in the world to work on my project and I didn’t have classes to worry about, when you have people and resources to tap into that are available, make use of them. In my program and with my collaboration partner Kent, I have friends who can provide music, edit, and help raise funds too.

I sent an e-mail to my contacts with Kaya Volunteering and
asked them to help put together an information packet and help create a budget sheet, which they accomplished in the course of a few hours. If I had done this on my own, the opportunity cost would have been my study time, fund raising, and looking for tickets. You can download the flier below, which looks pretty impressive if I do say so myself!

In a world like ours, especially in the field of international relations, it is important to create a dynamic of teamwork and cooperation without excluding everyone. Even if I’m the guy traveling and getting down and dirty, I have people who are willing to make music, raise funds, edit footage, and put together the info packet. On top of that, with the ultimate goal of getting people to realize that we all have the power to make change, we just need to know we have it, how to use it, and where to apply that, then everyone realizes that the human race is all on the same team when we choose to be.

It all comes down to individual accountability and responsibility, so if everyone did their part to recycle, write letters to influence policy instead of letting corporations or politicians decide for them, and continued to make themselves aware, then we would have a stronger loving world.

I’m happy I’m getting a lot done even while being assaulted from ten directions from school alone. But, it’s all a learning process, and nobody becomes good without practice.

Here’s a quote from Ira Glass that I feel is appropriate to conclude with:

“Nobody tells this to people who are beginners. I wish someone told me. All of us who do creative work, we get into it because we have good taste. But there is this GAP. For the first couple years you make stuff, it’s just not that good. It’s trying to be good, it has potential, but it’s not. But your taste, the thing that got you into the game, is still KILLER. And your taste is why your work disappoints you. A lot of people never get past this phase, they quit. Most people I know who do interesting, creative work went through years of this. We know our work doesn’t have this special thing that we want it to have. We all go through this. And if you are just starting out or you are still in this phase, you gotta know its normal and the most important thing you can do is DO A LOT OF WORK. Put yourself on a deadline so that every week you will finish one story. It is only by going through a volume of work that you will close that gap. And your work will be as good as your ambitions. And I took longer to figure out how to do this than anyone I’ve ever met. It’s gonna take awhile. It’s normal to take awhile. You’ve just gotta fight your way through.”

Check out the info packet below if you want to see what the team at Kaya put together.

Thailand Zero Mission

Leave a Reply

